Submit a review


First & Last Name
Email
Date of stay
Rating





Your Review

May 23 to June 06 2016


★★★★★

5


5


1
It’s nearly impossible to find any words to describe this magnificent place. We’ve had a beautiful fortnight here with biking, swimming and most of all enjoying the small towns, villages, markets and castles. Thank you so much for your warm hospitality! We’ re definitly looking forward to come back next year.

5 to 13 March 2016


★★★★★

5


5


1
Don't make the mistake of thinking of "cottage" as small. This charming property is actually a rather large and surprisingly spacious home, and provided me with the most perfect place to have a true French-style getaway break from the humdrum and stress of day-to-day living! There is something extra special and welcoming for me about stepping through the entrance to a home and finding oneself in the kitchen, the true heart of any great home, and from the moment I walked through the door of Les Chouettes I felt right at home in the beautifully warm & cosy (again, do not think small here) kitchen. In fact, when we weren't cuddled up in the warmth and extreme comfort of our beds, or relaxing in the lounge watching a bit of TV or reading in front of the roaring fireplace, most of our time at home was spent at the kitchen table, planning our days, or meals or activities for the day, eating, drinking coffee or wine and just having a good chat and many laughs. The home is pretty as a picture from the outside and the inside does not disappoint. Each of the 4 bedrooms is tastefully furnished and decorated with a genuine, yet subtle French theme throughout. The beds are super comfy and the bedlinen is of a beautiful, high quality. In the bathrooms there was never a shortage of fluffy, white dry towels and each room throughout the house was heated to just the right temperature for the rather chilly conditions at the time. There are 2 separate lounges and as mentioned the kitchen also doubled up as a sort of lounge area, so no matter how many in your family and what their ages, there is plenty of space for everyone to relax without falling over one another! The garden is huge and I'd imagine in the summer, it provides a perfect setting for al fresco meals under the gazebo outside the kitchen or plenty of fun times in and around the large pool area. The location of the property is ideal with many interesting and beautiful places to visit and see in this magical part of France. Every morning we started our day with a brisk walk, or you could just as easily take a relaxing, casual stroll through the village and surrounds. There is a wide variety of fine restaurants and eateries in pretty close proximity and the absolute highlight for me was a very special lunch at the Michelin-starred restaurant at Le Vieux Logis, right in the heart of Tremolat. The memories from this holiday and my gorgeous home-away from-home will happily linger forever.....

Oct 31, 2014


★★★★★

5


5


1
We were lucky enough to stay at Les Chouettes for four weeks and had the holiday of a life time. The property, Tremolat and surrounding area are truly wonderful. Les Chouettes is the perfect base and offers everything that you may want or need. Karen was fantastic in the run up and during our holiday, checking that we were having a great time and Simon was on hand locally to do the same. If you get chance to visit Les Chouettes then take it with both hands! Thank you for the best holiday!

May 19, 2015


★★★★☆

4


5


1
Ah, what a delightful little cottage, well actually, spacious cottage! We really enjoyed the home away from home feel, and found it to be comfortable. With 3 comfortable bedrooms, we were able to relax and rest well! The cottage is fitted with all amenities, (the washing machine and dryer were particularly appreciated after 2 weeks on the road already!) The info provided in terms of nearby attractions and activities was greatly appreciated, and we really enjoyed exploring this part of the world. A stunning little spot in a beautiful part of the world!

14 August 2015


★★★★★

5


5


1
Beautiful home in lovely village. A lovely well maintained property with a nice seating area and good sized pool with ample space in side for 5 adults. Although we ate out every evening there was everything you needed in the kitchen if you wanted to stay in and prepare your own meals. Karen the owner was exceptionally helpful and responded very quickly to any questions I asked. We were given plenty of information prior to our arrival. We ate at the pizzeria in tremolat and another restaurant in the square. We also had a trip out to yannick's place. I highly recommend there. You have to like duck though. Food is fabulous and it's all grown on his land. We visited some pretty villages and towns including Bayonne and it was lovely to return to the quiet and peaceful home and jump into the pool. I'd definitely recommend this home to friends and family. A great base to explore the lovely Dordogne.

30 August 2015


★★★★★

5


5


1
Ideal cottage in idyllic location. Spent a week at Les Chouettes .The cottage is larger than it looks on the WEB with three outdoor dining areas available depending on the heat of the day. The house is equipped with everything one needs and the manager attends to any extra needs one may require. The swimming pool is large and well maintained. The twenty minute walk to the Boulangerie in Tremolat is a delightful start to the day ( good bikes are available for the more hardy) This Dordogne area is extremely scenic. We enjoyed the local markets and the café /restaurant options in Tremolat. Good pizza if children are in attendance.

23 April 2015


★★★★★

5


5


1
Wish we were still there! Dear Karen and Alan Wow - when we walked into Les Chouettes I started crying - just because I was so happy and it was much more than I expected! We fell in love with Tremolat - everything just looked like the top of a chocolate box. The walks were brilliant and on warm evenings we had BBQ's under the fairy lights. A magical time which we will always remember and would really love to return some day in the not too distance future. Thank you so much

March 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
Dear Karen, We loved our stay at "Les Chouettes". Everything was perfect, comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen & fireplace. We enjoyed going to markets in the morning, sight see during the day, ride bikes, picnic lunch along the river, to return back late afternoon to prepare wonderful dinners, enjoying regional food & wine while we sat by the fireplace played cards & planned our next day of sights. Your booklet & brochures were a great help. Simon is a delight and always available to answer questions and grant wishes, especially bringing more firewood for our chilly evenings being early March. We loved our stay at "Les Chouettes" and the Dordogne region. We hope to return again. - Pennsylvania, USA

April, 2012


★★★★★

5


5


1
Dear Karen, We’ve had a great week – not as hot as you promised! The house is great and I think we left it in good shape. Didn’t hear or see any owls but I heard lots of doves. We walked, cycled, enjoyed the pizzeria, the art store, I visited some nearby site & events at the market. The pool is a bonus – much appreciated and used daytime and evening. No problem recommending this to others.

June, 2012


★★★★★

5


5


1
Dear Karen, Thank you for a lovely week at Les Chouettes. We have had a very relaxing and enjoyable time. The house is lovely and you have provided everything we could possibly need. Thanks for supplying the cot and high chair for our grandaughter Zoe. We have enjoyed seeing the local area and villages, it is a very pretty part of the world and would come back if we had the opportunity. Many thanks also to Simon for meeting us in Tremolot and showing us around the house, it was greatly appreciated – enjoyed the few beers in the fridge . Highly recommended Les Truffiers Country Restaurant – great food and very reasonably priced. Thank you so much Karen and Simon for a great stay, it was lovely. - Canberra Austrailia

November, 2012


★★★★★

5


5


1
Dear Karen, Thank you so much for letting us stay here in the charming house! It is amazing here in France so I’ll have to persuade my parents to come here again, although we might want to study the culture first since on Tuesday we went to see the farmers market in Bererac, but found out it wasn’t on Tuesdays! Thank you for the games here (scrabble). We played scrabble every night and me and Andy (On one team) and dad and Max (On the other) have got a tie 2-2 wins! We are going to go see Mickey and Minnie mouse at Disneyland Paris and see the Eiffel Tower! We are all excited about it! Andy and I slept in the master bedroom upstairs and it was very comfy! We managed to avoid rain except for yesterday which was a slight drizzle. And the town was lovely with the pizzeria and the Pattiseine. The pepperoni pizza was a lot spicy for my whole family’s liking. hee hee. Point is, we absolutely loved it!

September, 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
We had a lovely, quiet and relaxing stay here at Les Chouettes. The area was wonderful and very welcoming. We'd highly recommend visiting Beynae Castle as it has spectacular views and the town itself has lovely shops, cafe's and activities. We look forward to visiting here again and wish to thank Simon for all his help. Amazing place!

4-11 August, 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
What a wonderful week we had! No complaints about the house, apart from the gas cooker died on us in the middle of cooking our last super. Beds very comfortable. Loved having tables to eat from at the front and the back of the house. The pool was blissful. Simon charming & helpful. Highlights: Beynac Castle,Beaumont Night Market, La Bongue Street Market, La Scanx cakes. Tremolat Pizzeria delicious.Hope to return!

12 July 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
Had a fantastic week here, loved by grown ups and kids. Beautiful house with all the equipment we needed for our two young children who had hours of fun playing in the pool! Lots of good info provided and Simon very helpful. Had a lovely meal at the pizzeria and also a take away one lazy night! Also treated ourselves to lunch at the Michelin Start restaurant in the village - absolutely beautiful and recommended! Went to the candle light evening at the Gardens of Marqueyssac last night which was magical. Managed to keep the kids out until 11pm (good preparation for our long arrive home!) and they had great fun dancing by candlelight down the twinkly paths and chasing peacocks! a fantastic holiday had by all. Planning to come back!!

August, 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
We had a wonderful time at Les Chouettes. We were able to see many beautiful towns in Dordogne. We even went to St.Emilion in Bordeaux. The Pizzeria Restaurant was by far our favourite place to eat in Tremelot. We had a great holiday and Simon was very helpful and nice. Cant wait to return!

5th July, 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
We had a lovely holiday here. The house & pool are lovely. We had all the basics that we needed - washing powder, washing machine, lots of towels, lots of sun lounges and parasols, guide books. It was an easy house to move into. The pizzeria in Tremelot is lovely and friendly & great food. When eating at any restaurant near the river or mightime beware of the midges. We got caught in Beynac and it spoiled the meal. SImon is very helpful and friendly. Would like to return.

2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
Thank you so much for allowing us to be a part of this area, even for a short while. You have a gem in this house and this region and it was wonderful to experience it. The house is everything one could possibly hope for and all the added extras like bicycles and scrabble were much appreciated. Will be leaving here tomorrow with a heart made very happy by all the wonderful sights of the past week. Thank you! Much love

28th May 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
What a wonderful holiday we have had. A home away from home. Beds were fantastic and we slept so well. Everything we needed was here and beautifully presented. Thank you for sharing your lovely place and for the wonderful moments we made here in this little piece of paradise. - Cathcart South Africa

7th September 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
We have had a fantastic week here, enjoying beautiful weather each day and making the most of what the area has to offer. The house has worked out very well for our family and have found the beds very comfortable. The highlights for us have been kayaking the Dordogne river, visiting the marqueyzac, La Roche, St Christophe, and the castle of Beynac. What a week! I would certainly recommend this delightful villa.

November 2013


★★★★★

5


5


1
There are only fabulous things to say about this French decorated luxury cottage. From the moment you enter the small village of Tremolat, the stresses of city life are instantly forgotten. The cottage has everything you need for a very comfortable, relaxing stay. I tried my hand at some French cooking in the kitchen, while my husband relaxed next to the indoor fireplace. The home is kitted with all the necessary comforts we needed during our stay in the chilly autumn. The surrounding areas are breathtaking and there is just so much to do. We explored castles, markets, beautiful winding roads and daily bike rides to the patisserie of course . The heaters throughout the cottage kept us cozy, and in the summer you can make use of the swimming pool and sun loungers. We loved every minute of our stay and cannot wait to return! (Oh, and if you eventually decide to make contact with the outside world, there is excellent wifi too.)

December - January 2014


★★★★★

5


5


1
The three weeks spent in your charming cottage in the picturesque and historic Dordogne was the high point of our recent winter adventure in France. Our days were spent visiting some of the nearby villages such as, Limeuil, Sarlat, Domme and Mauzac (the list could go on with each name conjuring up remembered images of this beautiful area, stark and crisp in the marvelous winter light). Late evening walks or cycle rides around the immediate area would be followed by cosy evenings around the supper table as we reminisced about the day past and planned the next day's excursion and enjoyed the local vin rouge et les fromages extraordinaires! Thank you so much for affording us the opportunity to share your "coin de paradis"

16 January 2014


★★★★★

5


5


1
Hi Karen and Alan, We were very sad to leave this morning but have so many happy memories of Les Chouettes and Tremolat and the Dordogne..everything was spick and span and we folded the linen and left it in the lounge adjoining Andrew 's room. Owen settled with Simon, who popped in before we left It was raining softly all the way to Bergerac but blue skies in Bordeaux. We have just realized that we are all quite tired ...lugging heavy suitcases around and we have been on the go now for 6 weeks!! Andrew flies at 6 am and we fly later in the afternoon. Andrew has sent the bathroom photos

 

Download your guide to fun around Les Chouettes

  Full Name:
* Your Email Address:
Les Chouettes